Manhattan X, VRS F-18E and some ships..

Pardon me for an absence of posts lately – I’ve been a little distracted!

The VRS  F-18E, available here, is verily marvellous, deep, complex and has an excellent flight model/feel, as verified by real pilots. I’m in love, so have neglected you all!

I bought the Manhattan X scenery from Aerosoft, as well as the FSDreamteam KJFK airport, which is situated nearby. Thought I’d really test my i7 920 system to the max. Pleasantly pleased with the results, with the airport allowing over 20-25 fps and the dense city 25-28 fps. At night it gets lower, and just as you take off you get a second or two at 18, but it’s hardly noticeable.  The FSDT airport is pretty good, I think overpriced for the relative lack of detail compared to Orbx’s efforts, but it’s still worth it for anyone like me who will make this a regular destination. The Traffic X traffic works very well with it to boot.

I’ve never been to NYC, always wanted to, so I’m flying around the area a great deal, enjoying the dawn/dusk and marvelling at how dense this area of humanity is, let alone the confusing array of airports. Manhattan X is famous, and justifiably so. Never seen so many scenery objects in my life. And now we modern PC users can get more than 10fps – Maybe I should have said Manhattan X is ‘infamous’ for that reason.

With the F-18 being carrier capable, I did my research and found this amazing freeware carrier package by Javier Fernandez. Dare I say better than the payware Xplane version? Only problem is that it does not have a rolling deck, so landings are too easy..sort of. A handy free ship placement addon,  AICARRIERS,  makes things even nicer, you can have 10 ships all around you, brilliant.

These are the best of the shots I took along the way. I had taken some video, but wasn’t happy with the stuttering result, which I’ve now fixed by using Nvidia Inspector to force my GPU to control antialiasing rather than FSX.

I’m finding the F18 deep, with landings and takeoffs a challenge to perfect. I still miss the feel of a moving mass of air under you in Xplane, but that loss is negated by the other good stuff, like the scenery and the stupidly detailed reflections on the livery of that 18!  All a great diversion while waiting for Xplane10 to get out.

Simon

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

